Black Hills State University honored several alumni during the Alumni Awards Luncheon and the Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony held on the Friday of Swarm Days this past week.  

The honors began with the Alumni Awards luncheon on Oct. 6. Five individuals were presented with awards. The Distinguished Alumnus Award was given to Daryl Johnson ‘68, the Excellence in Education Award to Deborah (Eldridge) Snook ‘95, the Special Achievement Award to Dr. Krista Highland ‘07, the Young Alumni Achievement Award to Randall Hill ‘13, and the Special Service Award to former BHSU Director of Choral Activities Steve Parker.  

Director of Alumni Affairs Tom Wheaton said, “The BHSU Alumni Association honored five individuals who, over the years, have gone above and beyond in their areas of expertise. The success they have achieved and the commitment they have shown to their respective fields is truly inspiring. Well-deserved honors for each one of them.” 

The Athletics Hall of Fame Ceremony was held on Oct. 6 as well. The ceremony inducted seven individuals and two teams into the Athletic Hall of Fame. The individual inductees included Crystal (Hostetter) Huntrods, ‘06 (Cross Country, Track & Field), Hallard Jackson III (Men’s Basketball), David Mickelson, ‘94 (Football), Jenna (Bachand) Ranek, ‘07 (Track & Field), Shannon (Hellman) Reed, ‘11 (Track & Field), Glenn W. Freeburg, ‘77 (Coach), and Kevin Krog (Contributor).  

The two teams inducted were the 2007 Men’s Cross Country Team and the 2008-09 Men’s Basketball Team.  

Vice President for University Advancement Steve Meeker said, “Being inducted into the athletic hall of fame is the highest honor bestowed on our former athletes. This year’s inductees truly represent the best of the best. BHSU is proud of these talented individuals.” 

For more information about the recipients of this year’s Alumni Awards and the Athletic Hall of Fame inductees, please view the Fall 2023 issue of the BHSU Alumni Magazine at