Speech Program at BHSU


We are proud of our students active participation in their neighborhood or community's political controversies. We are proud of our graduates who are mainstays of their community theatres. We are proud of their struggles to build better, more humane families, and to raise children in those families.

Our students participate in a debate squad that is a student-supported activity akin to clubs on campus. The team usually includes ten or more debaters, who scrimmage and critique on weekday afternoons in the debate squad room. In addition to on-campus demonstration debates, the debaters will demonstrate their argumentative savoir faire at two or three debate tournaments per school year. Debate is a great way to sharpen your mind, hone your analytic habits, make reliable research a regular routine, and quicken your tongue. It is also a great way to make new friends. You are welcome to drop by the squad room any time to talk with the outstanding coach, Dr. Ryan Clark, or to sit in on an afternoon scrimmage. Visit with one of the faculty, or ask a student about their experience.

Debate Team

BHSU has been a member of Pi Kappa Delta since 1955. This year was our first 1st place finish at the Pi Kappa Delta National Debate Tournament in Lexington,Kentucky.

We had Megan Wattenhofer place first in novice IPDA (Individual Parliamentary Debate) while also taking first for speaker points.

Broc Hall and Nick Montieth broke to novice Octa finals in NPDA. This was only their second tournament!

Brittany Thompson won an award of Excellence at last year's national debate tournament in IPDA, but was not able to make it this year due to her health.

At this tournament there were 364 debate entries and 1956 IE entries from 87 schools.

At the South Dakota/North Dakota State tournament we had two teams break to semi-final rounds: Stephen Farghali with Megan Wattenhofer, and Alissa Iverson with Dylan Dobbs. Jordan Thaler placed 6th in an IE event.

At the Talk of the Tundra regional tournament in Fargo, ND, Stephen Farghali and Megan Wattenhofer placed 1st.