BHSU employees earn awards

Author: BHSU Communications/Tuesday, May 12, 2015/Categories: 2015

Black Hills State University honored outstanding faculty and staff during the annual Employee Awards Reception recently.

Award recipients were nominated by their peers for their excellence in the classroom, community and throughout the University.

Faculty Awards included:

&middot Dr. Ahrar Ahmad, professor of political science, earned the Outstanding Research Scholarship &amp Creative Achievement Award. Ahrar is known for his dedication to scholarship and Black Hills State University. His contributions included reviewing two book manuscripts and six articles for publishers, writing six book reviews for scholarly publications and serving as the chair and discussant on three panels at scholarly conferences. In addition, Ahmad co-authored five chapters in a book titled Government and Politics in South Asia. He&rsquos also had articles published in Asian Survey and Foreign Policy Research Center Journal, among others.

&middot Gina Gibson, associate professor of digital communication, earned the Outstanding Teaching Award. Gibson brings enthusiasm and expertise to the classroom and is known for her interactive teaching approach, which includes the mastering of technology within the graphic design field, but also the effective use of social media. She not only inspires her students, but engages them outside of the classroom. A number of her students received awards from the American Advertising Federation and participated in a local design jam. Gibson also dedicates her time in admissions, speaking to prospective students and their families.

&middot Dr. Cynthia Anderson, assistant professor of biology, earned the Outstanding Service Award. Anderson serves as the statewide program coordinator for the NIH funded South Dakota Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network, associate director for the WestCore DNA Research Facility, and as chair of the Institutional Review Board and the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee. In addition, she serves on three University committees, is involved in community science education and serves her discipline in a variety of capacities.

The following staff received University awards for their commitment to the University, community and their profession. They included:

Community Service Award

Margaret Kleinsasser, facility services, and Penney Williams, senior secretary of health services, received the Community Service Award for their dedication to the Northern Hills Humane Society. The Community Service Award recognizes individuals that provide service to the Spearfish community, the region or state of South Dakota and spotlights the positive impact BHSU employees have in the community.

Economic Enhancement &amp Savings Award

Ryan Shippy, coordinator of web development, received the Economic Enhancement &amp Savings Award for his work in redesigning the BHSU website for mobile use. Shippy used in-house resources, which saved the University time and money in the redesign.

Student Service Award

Micheline Nelson, director of field experience and assistant professor of math and science education, earned the Student Service Award for her excellent service to BHSU students in her role as director of field experience and liaison with the public school district. The Student Service Award recognizes individuals that assist students through mentoring, clarification of BHSU policies and overall exceptional service and assistance to students.

Outstanding Area Award

The BHSU University Advancement office at BHSU received the Outstanding Area Award for its dedication in fundraising for the cost of the Joy (Proctor) Krautschun Alumni Welcome Center on campus. BHSU University Advancement is comprised of Steve Meeker, vice president for university advancement Tom Wheaton, director of alumni affairs Shauna Junek, director of development Brandon Bentley, accountant Kanda Guthmiller, scholarship coordinator Chad Lundberg, director of information services and Jeannie Salazar, program assistant I.

Outstanding Service Award

Melissa Woodall, secretary for the College of Business &amp Natural Sciences, received the Outstanding Service Award for her outstanding dedication and commitment to the responsibilities of her position at the University to not only the public, but fellow employees.

BHSU 2015 University Awards - Images by Black Hills State University

Number of views (495)/Comments (0)