Volume XXV No. 19 • May 11, 2001

Submit items to Campus Currents - Top

The Campus Currents is distributed every Friday. If you would like to include an item in the newsletter send it to Campus Currents, Unit 9512 or by e-mail to Campus Currents. Deadline is Thursday at 8 a.m.

Resignation - Top

Holly Estes, child-care worker, Child Care Center

BHSU will hold 141st commencement Saturday - Top

The 141st Black Hills State University commencement is scheduled for Saturday, May 12 at 10 a.m. in the gymnasium of the Donald E. Young Sports and Fitness Center.

A total of 329 students are candidates for degree confirmation. Among the graduates are nine master's of science, three bachelor's of arts, 200 bachelor's of science, 94 bachelor's of science in education and 23 associate degree candidates.

Kent Meyers, English assistant professor, will be honored as the 2001 recipient of the distinguished faculty award. Last year's recipient, Howard Perry, retired faculty, will speak to the graduates and guests.

BHSU President Thomas Flickema will host a reception for the graduates and their 

families and friends, and BHSU faculty and staff members immediately following the commencement ceremony. The reception will be held in the Young Center Field House.

An honors convocation breakfast will be held prior to graduation at 7:45 a.m. in the Student Union multi-purpose room. The cum laude, magna cum laude, and summa cum laude graduates will be honored. Also, the highest-ranking female and male graduates, Angela Allred, Rapid City, and Nathan Steinle, Sturgis, will be recognized. Vance Schauer will be honored as the highest-ranking airman at Ellsworth Air Force Base.

The Fayette L. Cook Scholarship will be awarded to Travis Tschacher, Newcastle, Wyo., and the Wenona Cook Scholarship will be presented to Kelley Dodd, Hill City.

SDSEO will sponsor an open forum - Top

SDSEO will sponsor an open forum for all state employees Friday, May 18 from noon to 4 p.m. at Pangburn Dining room.

The forum, which is open to all state employees both on and off campus, will focus on understanding the benefits of being a member of SDSEO. 

A representative from Piper Jaffrey will be present to discuss investment opportunities. Mary Foster, SDSEO member, will also be available to discuss the benefits of SDSEO membership. For more information contact Foster at 642-6081 or 642-7281.

Postal Pete’s Tips… - Top
(courtesy of Hanna Swarts, BHSU mail services)

Currently the Post Office charges 44 cents for each returned business reply envelope. If these envelopes are pre-approved by the post service you could save 8 cents per return. Call the BHSU mail service at 6396 for details.

AAUW presents Pangburn/Meldahl Award to BHSU sophomore - Top

Becky Baker, a Black Hills State University sophomore, is a recipient of the Pangburn/Meldahl Award sponsored by the local chapter of the American Association of University Women (AAUW). Presenting the award to Baker is AAUW representative Barb Chrisman, right, and award nominator Monte Robinson, left, assistant professor of technology. Baker’s children are one-year-old Abbigail and Torri, age 6. The award is named in honor of Dr. Jesse Pangburn, former head of the university’s department of education, and Dr. Leila Meldahl, former dean of women. These women were highly respected and served as role models for other women. The $1,000 award is presented to a non-traditional student who has returned to school on a full-time basis to complete an educational program that has been interrupted due to personal or family situations and is meant to be a pat on the back. Baker will complete her associate degree in drafting next year and plans to continue in the technology area and earn a bachelor’s degree. She is completing her schooling after working to help her husband, Duane, complete his degree. He works for the Rapid City Police Department.

Retirement representative will visit campus - Top

Ron Van Patten, field representative with the South Dakota Retirement System, will be on campus Wednesday, May 16, to meet with employees. 

Van Patten will meet one-on-one with SDRS 

members who have questions about their retirement with SDRS or other questions about the South Dakota Retirement System. To schedule an appointment contact Becky Bruce at 6549. 

College of Education scholarships awarded - Top

Erica A. Hall, Mitchell, right, received the Charlotte Mayree Roebuck O'Neil Memorial Scholarship at the annual College of Education scholarship reception this week. Presenting the scholarship was Ralph O'Neil, 93. The scholarship is a memorial to his former wife.  Scholarships awards were presented to incoming freshmen and continuing students. 

This week at BHSU

Submit items to Media Relations or send to Unit 9512, BHSU.



May 11

Final Exams

Book Buy-back, Bookstore

May 12

Honors Breakfast, Student Union multi-purpose room, 7:45 a.m. 

Commencement, Young Center, 10 a.m. 

President's Reception, Young Center Fieldhouse, following ceremony