Black Hills State University will hold its 154th commencement ceremony Saturday, Dec. 15 at 10 a.m. in the Donald E. Young Sports and Fitness Center.

Candidates for fall 2007 graduation include 18 master’s degree candidates, one bachelor of applied technical science candidate, seven bachelor of arts candidates, 108 bachelor of science candidates, 31 candidates for bachelor of science in education, and nine associate degree candidates.

Student Senate president Kelly Kirk will give the charge to the graduates. Randall Morris, South Dakota Board of Regents member, will then give a greeting from the Regents. Following the presentation of diplomas by Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, BHSU president; April Meeker, registrar, and Dr. Dean Myers, provost and vice president of Academic Affairs, the graduates will be welcomed into the Alumni Association by Steve Meeker, vice president of University Advancement.

Musical selections will be performed by BHSU music professor Dr. Janeen Larsen and the Black Hills Singers, who are directed by BHSU assistant music professor Dr. Jonathan Nero.

Following the commencement ceremony a reception will be held in the Young Center Field House for all graduates and their families and friends.

An honors breakfast will be held prior to commencement at 8:15 a.m. in the David B. Miller Yellow Jacket Student Union. Samantha Cripps, business education and mathematics major from Wright, Wyo., will be honored as the highest ranking graduate. Also recognized at the breakfast will be the Student Senate outstanding male and female students - Kara Jenniges, elementary education major from Custer, and Brice Johnson, senior psychology major from Sheridan, Wyo. – and the summa, magna, and cum laude graduates. The Student Senate will also honor Dr. Mary Husemann, assistant humanities professor, as the outstanding faculty member and Rob Houdek, director of business services, as the Outstanding Staff member.