Volume XXIV No. 26 • June 30, 2000

Submit items to Campus Currents - Top

The Campus Currents is distributed every Friday. If you would like to include an item in the newsletter send it to Campus Currents, Unit 9512 or by e-mail to Campus Currents. Deadline is Thursday at 8 a.m.

Transfer - Top

Dana Borowski to financial aid assistant, university support service

A summer to remember - Top

Seven former Black Hills State classmates got together after nearly 40 years separation to reminisce and catch up on what’s happened during the intervening years. After spending several days at a cabin in Spearfish Canyon, they took time visit to visit the campus and see the many changes that have taken place since they left. Most were residents of Wenona Cook Hall, second floor north, before it was remodeled in the mid 60s and converted to a men’s dormitory. Posing for a photo on the steps of Woodburn Hall were, back left, Beverly Ellingson Byers, Reeder, N.D., ’58; Donna Wright Embry, Thousand Oaks, Calif., ’59; Margaret Allen Posthuma, Bend, Ore., ’59; and Evelyn Rose Reed, St. Louis, Mo., ’59. Front row, left, Della Borup Hall, Deadwood, ’68; Janet Hannerquist MacKrell, Klamath Falls, Ore., ’59; and Lois Larson Cersosino, Rapid City, ’65. Not in the photo but attending the reunion was Laura Fieldsend Spargur, ’59

Minutes of the May CSA meeting - Top

The CSA council met May 9, 2000 at 9 a.m. at the Pangburn Dining Room.

Present were Corinne Hansen, Ginny Sunding, Ellen Melaragno, Myron Sullivan, Gloria Spitler, Deatta Chapel, Becky Dovre, Margaret Kleinsasser and Eileen Thomas. Not present was Marilyn Luscombe.

President Corinne Hansen called the meeting to order. Minutes of the April meeting were read and approved, motion by Margaret Kleinsasser, second by Myron Sullivan.

Treasurer’s report was not available.

Committee Reports

Safety & Facilities – No report

Regents CSA – Jeanne Hanson reported on April 14 meeting in Pierre with regent representative Dave Hanson and representatives from all other state universities. A copy of those minutes is on file. Issues discussed included the health insurance premium increase, on call time, reduced tuition benefits, CSA classification updates, SDRS legislation, CSA selection process, salary policy and election of officers.

SDSEO House of Delegates Meeting – Myron Sullivan reported that the Spearfish Chapter 18 was voted the Outstanding Chapter of 1999-2000. Several resolutions were passed and will be presented for legislation next year, including a 5 percent salary package identical to the one presented last year, the "rule of 80" retirement proposal, a bonus proposal for every state employee including legislators and a reduced tuition benefit of 75 percent with eligibility at one year of state employment instead of three. Myron indicated there will be new representation with fall elections. He reminded us of the new law that is in effect that makes dismissal from state employment much 

easier. He indicated that legislation will be introduced next year to repeal this law. Gloria Spitler won the Cedar Shores Weekend, and Myron won the $500 shopping spree, both prizes sponsored by SDSEO.

Strategic Planning – No report, the committee will not meet again until fall.

CSA luncheon -- Corinne Hansen thanked everyone for a very successful luncheon. Dr. Flickema’s office paid for the food, door prizes and decorations will be paid by CSA funds. Ginny Sunding will send thanks to Dr. Flickema, Tim Johnston, Sharon Hemmingson and Brock Finn.

Ellen Melaragno will get personal information from scholarship recipient, Jackie Longbrake for a news release.

New Business

Eileen Thomas will serve the remainder of the year for the open position in Wenona Cook. Memos have been sent to eligible CSA employees in the library requesting a volunteer to fill the vacant position in that building. There has been no response to date. A motion was made by Myron Sullivan, seconded by Margaret Kleinsasser, if no interest is shown, the Council will appoint a member at large to serve the remainder of the term.

Summer Picnic Committee – Members are Gloria Spitler, Deatta Chapel, Corinne Hansen and Jeanne Hanson. A date for the picnic will be set at the June meeting.

Welcome Baskets – More will be prepared for delivery.

The next CSA meeting is set for June 13, at 9 a.m., place to be announced.

Recorded by Jeanne Hanson, CSA Secretary

Grants opportunities announced - Top

Below are the program materials received June 22-28 in the grants office, Woodburn 220. For copies of the information, contact our office at 642-6627 or e-mail requests to us at grants@mystic.bhsu.edu. Fellowship information will also be posted on the Student Union bulletin board near the information desk.
  • Analysis of Science and Technology Resources (NSF). The National Science Foundation is inviting applications for research, workshops and studies leading to improved 


approaches to developing and presenting science and technology indicators. Deadline: Sept. 18.
  • NSF. Division of Physics. Target date for proposal submissions for FY 2001 funds is Sept. 27, 2000.
  • NSF. Physics Frontiers Centers. Preproposals due Sept. 18; proposals due Jan. 26. Limited to twp proposal submissions per institution.

This week at BHSU - Top

Submit items or send to 
media relations, Unit 9512, BHSU.

 Friday, June30


Opera Scenes, Summer Arts Institute, Woodburn Auditorium, 7 p.m



July 3

Tuesday, July 4

Happy 4th of July


Wednesday, July 5

TTL Governor’s Technology for Teaching and Learning Academy 2000
second session begins

Thursday, July 6

Preregister Early Program (PREP) day for transfer students

Friday, July7

Preregister Early Program (PREP) day for transfer students

Second summer session ends


Saturday, July 8