

MINUTES BHSU Staff Senate

Monday, June 21, 2021 – 10 AM

Senators Present: Aaron Bauerly, Kristin Carmichael, Derrick Erhart, Scott Hanson, Janette Hettick, Marc Jolley, Roxanne Lewis, Kasey Salazar, Nancy Shuck, Clarissa Thompson, April Yenglin

Administration: Cassie Maser for Melissa Hart

Guests: Johanna Best, Debbie Liddick, Rich Loose, Jean Osborn, Prasanthi Pallapu, Tracey Steinbach

Call To Order

1. The meeting was called to order at 10:01 am.

Approval of Minutes of May 17, 2021

Derrick moved to approve the minutes as presented, Scott seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

Farewell to Outgoing Staff Senators / Discussion/nominations of new senators

The following staff members were the ones with the most votes behind the exiting staff senator and will be invited to join Staff Senate to finish out the terms.

- 1. Mark Nore will be asked to take Brock Anundson's spot from Athletics
- 2. Hans Nelson will be asked to take Andrea Bakeberg's spot from the President's Office / University Advancement / University Marketing and Communications. (It was later discovered Hans has been moved to another category in staff representation as have the other vote-getters in the category. A decision on how to proceed will be forthcoming.)
- 3. Ven Thompson will be asked to take Derrick Erhart's spot from Information Technology.
- 4. Aaron Bauerly will be the sole Information Technology Officer for the Staff Senate.

Open House – Need to set new date

- 1. Call for slides still on-going
- 2. Later in the summer might work better

Committee Reports (if any)

Announcements / Upcoming Events

- 1. Virtual NSO Tuesday, June 22nd
- 2. In-person NSO Monday, June 28th
- 3. SD Bankers & FCA on campus this week, Mark Nore's team camp next week
- 4. Zoom link will change and will be updated in the E-Update

Next meeting – To be determined if third Monday in month at 10 am works still

1. July 19th, 10am → will keep these meetings on Zoom