BHSU spring commencement ceremony to honor nearly 390 graduates; honorary doctorate awarded to Dr. Lowell Amiotte

Author: BHSU Communications/Monday, April 30, 2018/Categories: Events, Students, Academic Affairs, Alumni, College of Business and Natural Sciences, College of Education and Behavioral Sciences, College of Liberal Arts, Community, Events, Faculty, President, Staff, 2018

Nearly 390 graduates will be recognized during the 175th Black Hills State University Commencement Ceremony.

The spring commencement ceremony is at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 5 at the Donald E. Young Sports and Fitness Center on the BHSU campus. The public is invited to join and celebrate the students’ achievements. Degrees to be awarded include 66 master’s degrees, 294 bachelor’s degrees, and 28 associate’s degrees.

BHSU President Dr. Tom Jackson, Jr., will preside over the ceremony. The commencement processional will be led with the University mace carried by Dr. John Alsup, professor of math education at BHSU and the 2017 Distinguished Faculty Member. He will also deliver the Charge to the Graduates. Alsup has been a faculty member at BHSU for 21 years.

Ms. Beverly Running Bear, instructor of Lakota language, will share a Lakota prayer. Dr. Chris Crawford, provost and vice president for academic affairs at BHSU, and Mr. John Bastian of the South Dakota Board of Regents, will offer greetings to the graduates.

BHSU retiring faculty that will be recognized during the ceremony as receiving emeritus status include Dr. Cynthia Chandler, associate professor of early childhood/reading education; Dr. Timothy Martinez, professor of political science; Dr. Kathleen Matthew, professor of science teacher education; and Ms. Ann Porter, professor of art.

Jackson and Crawford will honor the 2018 Distinguished Faculty Award recipient, Dr. Laura Colmenero-Chilberg, professor of sociology.

An honorary doctorate will be bestowed upon Dr. Lowell Amiotte, Oglala Lakota and a 1964 graduate of BHSU. Amiotte is recognized for his dedication and commitment to Native American education. He spent nearly 50 years in education including serving as director of the Center for American Indian Studies at BHSU and helping to establish the American Indian Higher Education Consortium.

Jackson, with the assistance of Ms. April Meeker, registrar at BHSU, will present the diplomas to the graduation candidates.

The BHSU Class of 1968 will be honored for the 50th anniversary of their graduation year.

Mr. James Mortenson, president of the BHSU Alumni Association, will welcome the graduates into the Alumni Association.

The National Anthem, along with special music “Across the Bridge of Hope” by Jan Sandström and “Hymn to BHSU,” will be performed by the BHSU Concert Choir under the direction of Dr. Jonathan Nero, associate professor of music. The recessional will be directed by Dr. Symeon Waseen, associate professor of music, and Dr. Christopher Hahn, assistant professor of music.

The spring 2018 Commencement Ceremony will be broadcast live at for those who are unable to attend. BHSU encourages attendees to share their commencement story on social media with the hashtag #BHSU2018 in Twitter, Facebook and Instagram posts. A photo gallery from the ceremony will be available at after Monday, May 7.

Jolesch Photography will take formal photos of graduates during the ceremony. To view or purchase the photographs online, visit one week after the ceremony.

Number of views (4282)/Comments (0)