BHSU announces winners of 16th Annual Bellman Writing Awards

Author: BHSU Communications/Thursday, April 16, 2015/Categories: 2015

Black Hills State University recognized nine students last week during the Annual Bellman Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Writing recognizing the students for their exceptional papers submitted throughout the 2014-2015 school year. Awards were given to students in memory of Stewart Bellman, a professor of English who taught at BHSU for 30 years.

Writing is a vital skill for students to hone during college, according to Dr. David Cremean, professor of English at BHSU and coordinator of the Bellman Awards. The Bellman Awards Program was developed to encourage and recognize excellence in writing from students across the disciplines.

"Whether our students go into the business world, education or go on to graduate school, writing is integral to success," said Cremean.

Winning students, listed below, received a monetary prize and recognition during last week&rsquos awards ceremony.

Composition I and II

1.      Caitlin Donlon, elementary education major from Rapid City

2.      Jacob Malon, outdoor education, Rapid City

3.      Gavin Brucklacher, business administration, Phillip (tie)

Michael Hurst, biology and chemistry, Spearfish (tie)

Literary Analysis

1.      Olivia Saunders, English education, Cheyenne, Wyo.

2.      Caitlin Hill, English, Veblen

3.      Courtney Gross, English education, Brandon

General Writing

1.      Caitlin Hill, English, Veblen       

2.      Stephanie Oxford, mass communications, Belle Fourche (tie)       

Tanya Robinson, psychology and biology, Rapid City (tie)

For more information, contact Cremean at 605-642-6713 or


Number of views (775)/Comments (0)