BHSU Chiesman Committee - Student Awards

BHSU Student Awards

Chiesman Endowment for Promoting Democracy

2014-2015 BHSU Student Scholarship Awards

In an effort to promote student research and writing on the subject of democracy, the Chiesman Committee will offer two scholarship awards in the amounts of $750 each for the best papers dealing with any aspect of democracy. One scholarship will be awarded to a student who wrote the best paper for a 100/200 level course and the other to a student who wrote the best paper for a 300/400 level course. The papers need to be written as part of a classroom assignment, under the direction of a university instructor.

Papers written during the 2014-2015 academic year are eligible. All submissions need to be made to Dr. David A. Wolff for consideration. Members of the Chiesman Committee will select the winners, with the selections made at the end of the academic year. No submissions will be considered after April 30, 2015. There are no specifications on length -- quality is the most important factor. The awards will be applied to the students’ university accounts.


Inquiries and Proposals can be made to:

Dr. David Wolff

Chair, BHSU Chiesman Endowment Committee

Black Hills State University

USB 9560

Spearfish, SD 57799-9560


Phone: (605) 642-6221