2011 Alumni Award Receipients

2011 Alumni Award Recipients

Black Hills State University honored four BHSU alumni during the annual Alumni Awards Luncheon on Friday, September 9, at 12:00 p.m. in the Jacket Legacy room of the David B. Miller Yellow Jacket Student Union. Those honored this year were, left to right: Darla (Talty) Crown, Class of ’80, Special Achievement Award; Dr. Barry Jankord, Class of ’82, Excellence in Education Award; Dr. George Rinker, Special Service Award; and Charles “Chuck” Sederstrom Jr., Attended, Distinguished Alumnus Award.

This year’s 2011 Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient is Mr. Charles (Chuck) V. Sederstrom Jr., attended BHSU and ultimately received his Juris Doctorate degree from the University of South Dakota(USD). In 1968 he began practicing law in Omaha, Neb., with Donald H. Erickson; and subsequently began the law firm of Erickson and Sederstrom. Chuck’s area of specialization has been in corporate law with a particular emphasis on health law. He is currently General Counsel to Alegent Health, which is the largest nongovernmental employer in the state of Nebraska, as well as the largest hospital in the state.

Over the course of the past 20 years, he has been very involved with the Salvation Army. He served on the local Omaha Board and for over 10 years he has served on the National Board.  He has also served the Omaha Salvation Army in many other capacities: Board Resources Committee, General Chairman of the Christmas Committee, Planning Committee, Chairman of the Advisory Board, and Bequest and Endowment Committee.  In addition, he was formerly Chairman of the Combined Health
Agencies of America.

Chuck is also a very active member and leader in many legal and civic organizations, including American Diabetes Association, American Lung Association, Arthritis Foundation, Boy Scouts of America, Combined Health Agencies Drive of Nebraska, Goodwill Industries, United Way, Rotary International, Chamber of Commerce, and the Omaha Home for Boys. He was President of the Omaha Bar Association from 1984-85.




Actions: E-mail | Bookmark |