2009 Alumni Award Recipient
Four BHSU alumni were honored during the Alumni Awards Luncehon on Friday, September 18, 2009. Tom Wheaton (center), director of Alumni Relations at BHSU, presented awards to (left to right) Howard Owens, Special Service Award; Dr. Michael (Mick) Dana, Distinguished Alumnus Award; Carol Gee, Special Achievement Award; and Kathy Christensen, Excellence in Education Award.
This year’s 2009 Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient is Dr. Michael “Mick” Dana, class of ’69. Dana received his bachelor’s degree in science and education from Black Hills State, where he was a member of the baseball and basketball team.
Following graduation, he attended the University Of Nebraska Medical Center College Of Dentistry where he graduated in 1974 with a Doctorate of Dental Surgery. He returned to Spearfish where he established his dental practice, Dana Dental Arts and now continues to practice with several of his children.
Dana is a member of the American Dental Association, the South Dakota Dental Association, and the Black Hills District Dental Society where he served as secretary-treasurer for many years.
He has been active in several local organizations including serving on the Board of Directors for the City Recreation Committee. Dana has also served on the University of Nebraska College of Dentistry Dean’s Advisory Board.

Actions: E-mail | Bookmark |