2003 Alumni Award Winners
The BHSU Alumni Association will recognized four individuals for their service and achievements during an awards breakfast Saturday, Oct. 4, at 8:30 a.m., in the David B. Miller Yellow Jacket Student Union Jacket Legacy Room. Individuals recognized were John Fidler, Palmdale, Calif., Special Aceivement Award; Beth (Gallup) Benning, Spearfish, Distinguished Alumni Award; Linda (Morris) McKay, Belle Fourche, Excellence in Education Award; and Jim Benning, Spearfish, Special Service Award.

Beth Benning, a 1973 summa cum laude graduate with a degree in business administration, was recently named 2003 South Dakota Finance Officer of the Year. In 1973 Beth became the assistant finance officer for the city of Spearfish and was promoted to municipal finance officer in 1979. She has served as District 10 chairman and president for the South Dakota Municipal League, was a member of the Governor's Tax Advisory Commission, and received the Excellence in Municipal Government Award in 1997.
Beth's other honors include being selected Community Woman of Achievement by Business and Professional Women, receiving the BHSU Outstanding Alumni Award for the business division and the Spirit of Spearfish Award in 1989, and being named one of the Argus Leader's "Leaders of Tomorrow."
Beth is a member of many community organizations. She also remains involved with her alma mater as a member of the BHSU Foundation Board of Directors and a member and past president of the Alumni Association. She and her husband, Jim, have four children.


Actions: E-mail | Bookmark |