2007 Alumni Award Recipients
2007 Alumni Awards
Tom Wheaton (far right), director of Alumni Relations at BHSU, presented awards to (left to right) Mona Chancellor, Distinguished Alumnae Award; Janet Hensley, Excellence in Education Award; Joy Krautschun, Special Service Award; and John Karinen, Special Achievement Award. 

Joy Krautschun, Class of ’73, was instrumental in starting and coaching the University’s first varsity women’s basketball team.

While attending BHSU, Krautschun majored in physical education and music. She was very involved in the dance program, a member of the cheerleading squad, and involved in intramural sports. She taught physical education and music at the Lead/Deadwood and Spearfish school districts.
Krautschun was an active member of the alumni association board of directors for many years and her husband, Harvey, was past president of the Alumni Association and is a current member of the BHSU Foundation Board of Directors.The couple are now both emeritus members of the alumni board.

Krautschun served with the Spearfish Ambassadors for many years and continues to be an active member of the Spearfish community. She volunteers her time by serving at the Food Pantry, and helping as a reading assistant at Spearfish Elementary. She loves to bake cookies, celebrate every holiday to the fullest, and spoil her grandchildren.


Actions: E-mail | Bookmark |