2004 Alumni Award Recipients
Terry Ree, Gary Larson, Bruce Williams, Lynette Powell,
and Linda Jodie Henry.
The BHSU Alumni Association recognized Gary Larson, Rapid City, S.D., Distinguished Alumni Award; Linda Jodie Henry, Spearfish, S.D., Special Achievement Award; Lynette Powell, Hot Springs, S.D., Excellence in Education Award; and Bruce Williams and Terry Ree, Hendersonville, T.N., Special Service Award.

Lynette Powell, a 1987 graduate with a bachelor's degree in education and a master's degree in education administration who has been the elementary school principal with the Hot Springs School District for the last seven years is receiving the Excellence in Education Award. Before serving in the Hot Springs School District, Powell taught for five years in the Douglas School District and worked for five years at Rapid City area schools.

Powell has been a member of the West River Principal's Association since 1997 and has served as both secretary-treasurer and as president for the organization. The South Dakota Association of Elementary School Principals nominated her as rookie of the year in 1997 and in 1999, and in 2002 she was chosen as the association's innovative leader of the year. She has been chair of the District Inservice Committee since 1999, is a founder and member of Hot Springs PTA, and is a member of the National Association of Elementary School Principals, and the International Reading Association.

Powell has served the Hot Springs community by serving on the education committee for the Mammoth Site Board, as well as on the Hot Springs Summer Recreation Board. She also is a volunteer basketball coach for elementary school students and a volunteer softball coach for summer recreation programs.

Actions: E-mail | Bookmark |