How to Edit Basic Module Settings
In this article we are going to discuss how to edit basic module settings like changing the module title, view permissions, and turning the display containers on and off. These instructions are focused for page level and administrative editors. If you do not have the ability to add a page, please contact Ryan.Shippy@bhsu.edu for assistance. To begin these instructions, you must be logged into the website where you will be adding the page. Below you will find the written instructions, a printable file for your convenience, and you can watch a video as well.
To change the module title:
1. Begin by selecting the Module Settings icon located at the bottom of the module.
2. On the Module Settings window, you can change the module title. Locate the Module Title: field in the Basic Settings category, delete the standard text title, and type in your new title.
3. To complete the changes, select Update, located at the bottom of the page.
To change view permissions:
If you would like to change the view permissions of a module, this can also be done from the Module Settings page (see Step 1). You may want to change the view permissions when you are editing a module and do not want it visible or when you are finished working on a module and want it to be seen by viewers. There are two permission options: View Module and Edit Module. The View permissions allow select viewers to see the content and the Edit permissions allow select users to edit the module. Be careful: Do not turn off your own view permissions or you will not be able to see the module you are trying to edit.
4. In the Module Settings (see Step 1), the Permissions: field is also located in the Basic Settings category. Sometimes the settings will be locked, as shown by the lock icons. To unlock the settings, uncheck the box that reads Inherit View permissions from Page.
5. Once the permissions are unlocked a series of boxes will appear. Select the box or boxes you want to change and a white check mark inside a green circle will appear. If you check the box again a red hexagon with a white X will appear. Although it may appear to deny the permission, it does not and should not be used. Check the box again and it will disappear. A blank box means that a user is denied that permission.
Administrators will always remain locked. All users refers to the general public. Do not worry about Registered users or Subscribers as they do not exist for our purposes. Generally, you will only be concerned with All users, your own user name, and/or possibly any users you may have added (if you have that permission).
6. To complete the changes, select Update, located at the bottom of the page.
Turning containers on and off:
If you do not want a title for your module and you want the text to appear flush with the top of the module, you can turn off the display container. The text in the module will remain visible.
7. To turn off the display container, go to the Module Settings (see Step 1) and locate the Page Settings category.
8. Maximize the Page Settings category to see all the options. Under the sub-category of Basic Settings, locate the Display Container? field.
9. Select the check mark to reveal a blank box. The display container is now off.
10. To complete the changes, click Update, located at the bottom of the page.