2008-2009 AACTE Board of Directors Chair Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, BHSU president, accepts the gavel of leadership from 2007-2008 Chair Randy Hitz. Schallenkamp serves as chair of the 23-member Board of Directors.
Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, Black Hills State University president, is the 2008-2009 chair of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) Board of Directors. Her term began March 1.

Throughout her career, Schallenkamp has been professionally active at the state and national levels. She has served as chair of the Presidents Council for NCAA Division II and the National Teachers Hall of Fame, as well as a member of the board of directors for the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, the North Central Association and The Renaissance Group.

AACTE is a national voluntary association of higher education institutions and other organizations and is dedicated to ensuring the highest quality preparation and continuing professional development for teachers and school leaders in order to enhance preschool through high school student learning. The almost 800 institutions holding AACTE membership include private, state, and municipal colleges and universities large and small located in every state, the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, and Guam. In addition, AACTE has a growing number of affiliate members, including state departments of education, community colleges, educational laboratories and centers, and foreign institutions and organizations. Collectively, the AACTE membership prepares more than two-thirds of the new teachers entering schools each year in the United States. Schallenkamp serves as chair of the 23-member Board of Directors elected by the membership.