Arrow Bettelyoun from Wanblee accepts a STEM scholarship from Dr. John Glover. Bettelyoun was one of 11 BHSU students to receive the first round of STEM scholarships provided through grant funding from the National Science Foundation.
The Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) program, along with the Center for American Indian Studies at Black Hills State University recently honored the first 11 STEM scholarship recipients.

These scholarships were made possible by a four-year $600,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to BHSU. According to Dr. John Glover, over 90 percent of the funding is for scholarships to underrepresented groups in science.

“Our NSF proposal specifically identified BHSU’s success with American Indians undergraduates. Other underrepresented groups include women, other minorities, and persons with disabilities,” Glover says.  “The awards are determined by unmet need with this year reaching $2,500 for many recipients. The undergraduate awards are renewable while the student attends BHSU.” 

The scholarship awards were presented by the STEM undergraduate committee members Dr. John Glover, Dr. Garth Spellman and Dr. Shane Sarver at an awards breakfast on campus. President Kay Schallenkamp and Provost Dean Myers congratulated the students on their awards and noted they are pleased with opportunities these scholarships provide for students pursuing science and math degrees. 

This year’s recipients are: Arrow Bettelyoun, a freshman biology major from Wanblee; Andrew Elkshoulder, a junior, biology major from Lame Deer, Mont.; Melissa Fire Cloud, a junior biology major from Albuquerque, N.M.; Sarah Gould, a senior biology major from Spearfish; Savannah Greseth, a sophomore biology major from Rapid City; Robbie Kramer, a sophomore, biology major from Sturgis; Renee Kummer, a junior biology major from Parkston; Wendy Kummer, a freshman math major from Parkston; Desiree Pourier, a sophomore biology major from Porcupine; Kristal Running Wolf, a junior pre-medicine major from Spearfish; and Deanna Turney, a junior biology major from Ft. Pierre.

Another round of scholarships will be made this spring for the next academic year. For more information contact Spellman at 642-6854 or the Center for American Indian Studies at 642-6578.