Black Hills State University math and science education students who received scholarships from the John T. Vucurevich Foundation were honored at a reception recently. The Foundation recently donated $60,000 to go towards scholarships for students studying math and science education. Present for the award banquet were: (front row) John Klooster, freshman from Sioux Falls; Douglas Derby, freshman from Whitewood; Holly Heaton, sophomore from North Sioux City; Hayley Handcock, freshman from Onida; Amanda Heying, freshman from Lead; Kristina Schlapkohl, sophomore from Yankton; Sandy Diegel, Vucurevich Foundation; Renee Parker, Vucurevich Foundation; Carmen Hansen, Vucurevich Foundation; (back row) BHSU President Kay Schallenkamp; Dale Clement, Vucurevich Foundation; Richard Hamilton, freshman from Rapid City; Jolene Puthoff, junior from Sioux Falls; Zachary Beam, freshman from Custer; Jason Schumacher, freshman from Deadwood; April Oesterling, junior from Emery; Graham Larson, sophomore from Highmore; Wolf Parsons, junior from Box Elder; and Charles Polyak, sophomore from Sioux Falls; and Paul Phelan, Vucurevich Foundation. In addition, 20 math and science education majors will be awarded $2,000 in the next academic year with the grant funds. The BHSU scholarships were part of a donation announced by the Foundation recently to help meet the needs in the workforce of the state.
Posted in: Campus Currents