Black Hills State University recognized employees for their longevity during the annual Employee Awards Reception.

Retirees honored this year were: Verona Beguin, assistant professor of business; Dr. Kristi Pearce, vice president of Academic Affairs; Ginny Sunding, senior secretary for Academic Affairs; and Jim Knutson, professor of art.

Ramona Collins, registration officer for Registration and Records, and Carol Gritts, director of Upward Bound were honored for 40 years of service.

Jim Knutson, professor of art, was recognized for 35 years with the University.

Jean Johnson, assistant professor of business, and Norma Perry, facility worker for Facilities Services, were honored for 30 years of service.

Dr. Curtis Card, interim dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sharon Hemmingson, director of Grants for the Office of Sponsored Programs, were recognized for 25 years of service.

Individuals honored for 20 years of service included: Dr. Ahrar Ahmad, professor of political science; Dr. John Glover, professor of American Indian Studies; Kathy Johnson, vice president for Finance and Administration; Patty Maki, Jacket Java supervisor for A’viands; Dr. Timothy Martinez, professor of political science; Cody McMichael, assistant director of Student Support Services; Dr. Kristi Pearce, vice president for Academic Affairs; Dr. Betsy Silva, associate professor of physical education; Tony Silva, assistant professor of physical education and athletic trainer; Dr. Timothy Steckline, associate professor of speech; Eileen Thomas, senior secretary for the Center for Student Success; and Penney Williams, senior secretary for Health Services.

Employees recognized for 15 years of service were: Dr. John Alsup, professor of math education; Chad Anderson, equipment mechanic for Facilities Services; Dr. Leonard Austin, professor of educational psychology; Dr. Peggy Buckwalter, professor of Spanish; Dr. David Calhoon, associate professor of education; Kathleen Finkle, instructor of education; Dr. Dorothy Fuller, professor of instructional technology; Leone Geppert, budget manager for the Budget Office; Candy Huddleston, facility worker for Facilities Services; Christine McCart, assistant professor of outdoor education; Dr. Priscilla Romkema dean, College of Business and Natural Sciences; Dr. Randy Royer, professor of music; Dr. Brian Smith, professor of biology; Michael Tiffany, supervisor for Custodial Services; Laura Turner, instructor of technology; Dr. Nicholas Wallerstein, professor of English; and Rhonda Wolff, senior secretary for the College of Education and Behavioral Sciences.

Those acknowledged for 10 years of service included: Bonnie Alberts, retention advisor for the Center for Student Success; Debbie Balding, office supervisor for Residence Life; Bill Bland, building manager supervisor for Custodial Services; Dr. Rajeev Bukralia, dean, Educational Outreach and Libraries; Liz Diers, assistant professor of accounting; Janet Gehring, baker for A’viands; Kanda Guthmiller, scholarship coordinator for University Advancement; Terry Hupp, manager for Instructional Technology Services; Kristen Kilmer, information officer for Marketing and Communications; Julianna Larson, academic coordinator and science specialist for Student Support Services; Dr. Patrick Mackin; associate professor of business management; Dr. Sonya Pagel, associate professor of speech; Katie Pavel, coordinator of academic programming at the University Center-Rapid City; Laura Prosser, assistant professor of accounting; John Rombough, assistant director of facilities for Facilities Services; and Dr. David Siemens, associate professor of biology.

Employees honored for five years of service were: Josh Baity, senior network analyst for Network and Computer Support Services; Dr. Mary Caton-Rosser, assistant professor of mass communication; Bob DiBonto, Young Center fitness director; Dr. John Dixson, assistant professor of chemistry; Dr. Abigail Domagall, assistant professor of geology; Dr. Lois Flagstad, vice president for Student Life; Dr. James Fleming, director of the Counseling Center and International Studies; Dr. Gary Groce, assistant professor of English; Brandi Hanson, accounting assistant for the Business Office; Paul Jones, instructor of sociology; Grace Kostel, manager of the Herbarium; Chad Kruckenberg, career advisor for the Center for Student Success; James Lenneman, instructor of mathematics; Mike McNeil, disability services liaison for the Center for Student Success; Dr. Jonathan Nero, assistant professor of music; Josh Roadifer, aquatics manager; Dr. Nancy Roberts, assistant professor of music; Donna Vanden Hoek, senior secretary for Finance and Administration; Lorena Wenzel, facility worker for Facilities Services; and Dr. Chen Wu, assistant professor of economics.

Faculty Award Ceremony - Images by Black Hills State University