Black Hills State University will recognize 198 candidates during the University’s 162nd commencement ceremony Saturday, Dec. 17 at 10 a.m. in the Donald E. Young Sports and Fitness Center.

Degrees for the fall 2011 BHSU graduation include three master’s degree candidates, one bachelor of arts candidate, one bachelor of applied technical science candidate, 11 bachelor of general studies candidates, 43 bachelor of science in education candidates, 127 bachelor of science candidates, and 12 associate degree candidates.

The University will continue the tradition of leading the commencement processional with the University mace. A symbol of the University’s academic leadership, the mace will be carried by Dr. James Hess, the Distinguished Faculty member for 2011. Brittney Seitz, student senate president, will deliver the charge to the graduates. Dr. James O. Hansen, Board of Regents member, will give a greeting from the Regents. Dr. Rodney Custer, provost and vice president of Academic Affairs, will present the graduates; and BHSU President Kay Schallenkamp, assisted by April Meeker, registrar, will present the diplomas. Steve Meeker, vice president for University Advancement, will welcome the new graduates into the Alumni Association.

The National Anthem and musical selection will be performed by the BHSU Women’s Chorus under the direction of Dr. Jonathan Nero, assistant professor of music. Dr. Symeon Waseen, assistant professor of music and Christopher Hahn, instructor of music, will lead the recessional.

Immediately following the ceremony, the faculty, staff, 2011 graduates, family and friends are welcome to gather in the Donald E. Young Sports and Fitness Center Field House for the President’s Reception.

The commencement ceremony will be broadcast live via the internet for those who are unable to attend. For more information or to view the Dec. 17 broadcast, visit www.BHSU.edu/Class2011.