The Black Hills State University Center for American Indian Studies recently announced their third round of recipients of the American Indian Education Foundation Scholarships.

This year’s recipients will each receive a $250 scholarship for the spring 2011 semester at BHSU. They are Seth Bieber, biology major from Selby; Stella Hernandez, psychology major from Rapid City; Brett Prue, business administration major from Pierre; Curt Cummings, outdoor education major from Whitewood; Summer DiGioia, special education major from Spearfish; Elias Fast Horse, human services major from Rapid City; Raquel Franklin, human services major from McLaughlin; Lara Goodteacher, history major from Yankton; Maryann Leanna, human services major from Rapid City; Colby McGinley, industrial technology major from Rapid City; Rilda Means, political science major from Pine Ridge; Rhiannon Morgan, biology major from Crow Creek; Jen Morris, physical education major from Piedmont; Tyler Olson, science education major from Eagle Butte; David Poitra, mass communication major from Belle Fourche; Andrew Rexroad, speech communication major from Rapid City; Sammie Taylor, history major from Fort Thompson; Cody Welch, business administration major from Rapid City; Jaymie Wilke, communication art major from Rapid City; Devlin Zephier, psychology major from Rapid City; Rozlyn Quilt, applied technical science major from Rapid City; Justin Tibbitts, biology major from Hill City; and Victoria Sprague, biology major from Spearfish.

The awards are the product of a four-year challenge grant from the American Indian Education Foundation (AIEF). According to Urla Marcus, director of the BHSU Center for American Indian Studies, “In our first three years, we were able to award 40 students with scholarship money raised primarily through a benefit gala. The funds raised are generously matched dollar for dollar by AIEF. We have one more year to hit our goal of $10,000 which is matched one hundred percent. I believe we will meet that challenge this last and final year.”