Black Hills State University is a founding member of a new debate organization which started this semester, the Black Hills Collegiate Debate Union. This group is comprised of students from BHSU, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, and National American University. The organization hopes to add students from Western Dakota Tech and Oglala Lakota College in the near future. The group will be holding its second official union debate on the BHSU campus Tuesday, Nov. 16 in the Jacket Legacy Room at 6 p.m.

Based on a model of Cambridge, Oxford, and Yale debate societies, the purpose of the Black Hills Collegiate Debate Union is to provide students in the Black Hills region a chance to engage academic debate and to provide an alternative to contemporary academic tournament debate.

The union is a collaboration of area college and university faculty. Founding members include: Dr. John Quinn, president of National American University; Eric James, associate vice president for research affairs, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology; Dr. Charles Follette, former BHSU director of forensics; and Dr. Ryan Clark, BHSU director of forensics. Dr. Clark serves as president of the union.

BHSU student, Rebecca Piroutek, a sophomore mass communication major from Casper, Wyo., was one of four featured speakers at the first official session of the Black Hills Collegiate Debating Union, held Oct. 23 at National American University, Rapid City. Piroutek spoke successfully against the motion to eliminate the federal income tax and replace it with a consumption tax. For more information call Dr. Clark at 642-6283 or email Ryan.Clark@BHSU.edu.