Bruce Byrum, (center) president of First Western Bank, presents a $50,000 donation to Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, (left) president of Black Hills State University, and Steve Meeker, (right) vice president of institutional advancement at BHSU, to establish a First Western Bank Scholarship for BHSU students.

First Western Bank recently pledged $50,000 to establish a scholarship endowment at Black Hills State University.

The First Western Bank Scholarship will be awarded annually to a BHSU business student from western South Dakota. Interest from the fund will be used for the yearly scholarship. According to the agreement, the scholarship recipient must enroll in a minimum of 15 credit hours per semester and have a required grade-point average.

Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, president of BHSU, praised First Western Bank for their generous donation and noted that it will provide opportunities for educational opportunities for future students at BHSU.

“We are very pleased that First Western is investing in the future of South Dakota with this scholarship at BHSU,” Schallenkamp says. “The scholarship will provide financial assistance for BHSU students pursuing their dream of earning a business degree and entering the world of business.”

Bruce Byrum, president of First Western Bank in Spearfish, said the bank is proud to support Black Hills State University and its students.

“We see this as an investment in the university and community,” Byrum says. “As the university is successful, so is the rest of the community.”

The BHSU College of Business and Technology currently offers associate, bachelor’s and master’s degree programs in a wide range of academic programs, from accounting and management to marketing and tourism. For a complete list of degree options visit <www.bhsu.edu/academics>.

Opportunities are provided for business students to gain leadership skills through involvement with student organizations and to gain practical experiences through internships in business and industry. Faculty members are committed to excellence in teaching and are engaged in scholarly and grant activities.