The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently initiated 47 Black Hills State University undergraduate and graduate students to the Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 307.

New initiates include:

Samantha Kokesh, Curriculum and Instruction, Belle Fourche;
Melody Alsever, Sociology, Box Elder;
Tammy Arch, Education, Box Elder;
Sarah Johnson, Biology, Buffalo;
Eric Broussard, History, Deadwood;
Lora Underberg, Curriculum and Instruction, Douglas;
Robert Johnson, Curriculum and Instruction, Douglas;
Vicki Strobel, Curriculum and Instruction, Douglas;
Cynthia Temple, Education, Ellsworth;
Randi Olson, Accounting, Hayes;
Janette Emerson, Education, Hermosa;
Elizabeth Johnson, Education, Hettinger, N.D.;
Brandi Hamlin, History, Highmore;
Krista Calkins, Sociology, Huron;
Sarah O'Donnell, Education, Keldron;
Shannon Brady, Curriculum and Instruction, Kyle;
Maria Even, Exercise Science, Lemmon;
Kimberly Burgess, Education, Midwest, Wyo.;
Rachel Helmer, Exercise Science, Moorcroft, Wyo.;
Colleen Brunner, Sociology, Newell;
Michele Hoscheid, Education, Pierre;
Seth Hipple, Accounting, Pierre;
Andrea Nelson, Marketing, Rapid City;
Becky Jensen, Photography, Rapid City;
Erin Murtha, Psychology, Rapid City;
Florence Byrd, American Indian Studies, Rapid City;
Gregory Seefeldt, Curriculum and Instruction, Rapid City;
Jenna Nagel, Photography, Rapid City;
Jennifer Thomson, Education, Rapid City;
Marianne Gaffney Ruiz, Education, Rapid City;
Michael Salisbury, History, Rapid City;
Nancy Hurtig, Curriculum and Instruction, Rapid City;
Tyler Olson, Education Rapid City;
Zachary Potvin, Business, Rapid City;
Ava Suter, Psychology, Spearfish;
Katelynn Lamb, Biology, Spearfish;
Laura Daugherty, Psychology, Spearfish;
LeJae Seipel, Education, Spearfish;
Manuela Dietrich, Strategic Leadership, Spearfish;
Odessa Backen, Education, Spearfish;
Riston Haugen, Integrative Genomics, Spearfish;
Sarah Enos, History, Spearfish;
Timothy Vennell, Strategic Leadership, Spearfish;
Callie Huber, Communications, Sturgis;
Darcy Lenz, Education, Sundance;
Jason Reinders, Curriculum and Instruction, Valentine, Neb.;
Lacey Henningsen, Business, West Fargo, N.D.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society has chapters on nearly 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.

Membership in Phi Kappa Phi is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least seventy-two semester hours, are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Since its founding, more than 1 million members have been initiated. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, NASA Astronaut Wendy Lawrence, Baylor University head women’s basketball coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson, writer John Grisham and Netscape founder James Barksdale. The Society has awarded approximately $11.5 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, more than $700,000 is awarded annually to qualifying members and non-members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad scholarships, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives. The Society’s mission is “To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

For more information on Phi Kappa Phi, please call 800 and 804-9880 or visit www.PhiKappaPhi.org.