Black Hills State University 2009 Yellow Jacket Hall of Fame inductees from the 1978 baseball team gather on the field during the Swarm Day. Left to right, Cliff Papik (head coach), Nevin Jacobs, Mike West, Craig Crosswait, Darrell Hardcastle, Dick Fisher, Clark Gusso, Randy Nicholas, and Roger Riley.

Yellow Jacket fans and alumni gathered on the Black Hills State University Campus to congratulate the 2009 Yellow Jacket Hall of Fame inductees.

Steph Kelley, Mark Larscheid, Josh McNames, and Robert (Bob) Templeton were inducted as athletes; Louise Achenbach as a coach; and Mary Larscheid-Christensen as a contributor. The 1978 baseball team was also inducted.

Steph Kelley, Class of '98, was honored for her accomplishments as a member of the BHSU women’s basketball team.

Mark Larscheid, Class of '73, was inducted posthumously for his achievements in track and football while at BHSU.

Josh McNames, Class of '99, was recognized for his athletic accomplishments while playing men’s basketball at BHSU.

Bob Templeton, Class of '73, was inducted for his basketball and football achievements at BHSU.

Louise Achenbach, Class of ‘70, was inducted as a coach, earned two teaching degrees from BHSU. She spent 32 years coaching tennis, basketball, softball, and volleyball. Her volleyball teams brought home 29 championships, and she was named Volleyball League Coach of the Year 17 times. Louise was also inducted into the California State Coaches Hall of Fame.

Mary Larscheid-Christensen, Class of '73, was recognized for her generous support of BHSU through the coordination of a golf tournament each summer in memory of her late husband Mark. All of the proceeds go to a track and field scholarship in Mark’s name at BHSU. The annual tournament has raised over $20,000.

The 1978 baseball team won the SDIC Championship in 1978 with an 11-5 record, winning the league by four games and leading conference with a team .344 batting average. The team’s overall record was 29-8, a single season record for victories. There were seven players from the team selected All-Conference and three were selected Honorable Mention All-Conference.