web_big_5.jpgThe Black Hills State University alumni association is hosting a 100 Years of Men’s Basketball celebration Feb. 2 and 3.

To celebrate this milestone, BHSU has designated an All-Century Basketball Team consisting of the 100 top achieving men’s basketball players at BHSU in the last century. One coach was also chosen to represent the All-Century Team.

In addition, several conference championship teams that are celebrating anniversaries will also be recognized during the reunion. The 1947 team, the 1987 team and the 1997 team, which are celebrating their 60th, 20th and 10th anniversaries, respectively will be introduced during half-time of the BHSU men’s basketball game Friday, Feb. 2. The women’s basketball game begins at 5:30 p.m., and the men’s game follows at 7:30 p.m.

The All-Century BHSU Basketball Team will be formally recognized during half-time of the men’s basketball game Saturday, Feb. 3. The women’s basketball game begins at 4 p.m. that day, followed by the men’s game at 6 p.m.

For more information about the gathering contact Tom Wheaton at 642-6385.

Included on the All-Century Team are a basketball standout who went on to serve as a BHSU president, the all-time leading scorer, and a former player who is now playing with the Harlem Ambassadors.

Maurice Fitzgerald’s leadership roles were vital to the university both on and off the court. Fitzgerald played basketball in the 40s and later served as basketball coach for BHSU. He was then chosen as vice president of academic affairs and eventually served as acting president for the university. Fitzgerald was honored as college athlete of the century in the West River area.

Another member of the BHSU All-Century Team, Walter Dickey, attended and played football and basketball when the university was known as Spearfish Normal School. He was captain of the 1914-15 conference championship team, which was the first team at BH to win a conference title.

Jeff Lamb, a winner of 12 varsity letters at BHSC from 1976 to 1980, was selected to the All-Conference Team in 1978 and 1979 and the NAIA All-District 12 Team in 1979. His senior year he averaged 17.5 points and 7.8 rebounds a game. He shot 50 percent from the field and 78 percent from the free-throw line.

Kim Templeton, Class of 1976, was a two-time honorable mention All-American basketball player for the Yellow Jackets during his junior and senior years. During his career at the school he set nine school records. These records are: most points in a season (733); most points in a career (2,180); most points in a single game (45); most free throws in a season (169); most career free throws (420); most field goals in one game (19); most field goals in a season (282); most career field goals (880); and highest free-throw percentage (87.4 percent). After graduation he was a member of the South Dakota All-Star Team that toured Europe and the Soviet Union in the summer and fall of 1976.

Mike Savoy was a standout in basketball and football for the Yellow Jackets from 1968 to 1971. In 1970 he played for the North Team in the North-South Shrine Game in Miami, Fla. Savoy, who is now deceased, was self-employed as a contractor in Washington, D.C.

Hallard Jackson III was named the most valuable player of the DAC in 2006 and is currently a member of the Harlem Ambassadors.

Members of the All-Century BHSU Basketball Team are (in alphabetical order):

Willie Abbott
Paul Anderson
Russ Anderson
Wayne Brittenham
Brad Buche
Matt Burgess
Gale Bruns
Jeremy Carter
Oliver Carter
Tom Collins
Jesse Dana
Bert Dent
Walter Dickey
Joe Divis
Neil Doeden
Richard Dolph
Eric Doney
Steve Duncan
Tom Eaton
Marv Evans
Len Fahrni
Brian Fennema
Stacy Finkbeiner
Maurice Fitzgerald
Kurt Fothergill
Don Freemole
Scott Gardner
Ken Geis
Arthur Glenn
Josh Griffeth
Jerome Groeneveld
Cliff Hanson
Myrle Hanson Jr.
Dale Hardy
Jim Harris
Dennis Herndon
Dave Hohenthal
Hallard Jackson III
Scott Jaggi
Bruce Johnson
Ralph Keene
Ken Knapp
Bill Kohn
Jeff Lamb
Kenneth Leslie
Lee Liston
Maurice Lodge
Jerry Lund
Allen Malcolm
Aaron Manning
Eldon Marshall
Mike McCarty
Ed McLaughlin
Josh McNames
Ron Meeker
Brant Miller
Marv Mirich
Dale Moran
Tad Nelson
Tom Nicholson
Jim Norton
Norm Nowell
Mike Olson - Coach
Tom Olson
Jeff Olstad
Charles Owen
Bob Phillips
Clancy Roberts
Mike Savoy
Roger Scandrick
Brad Schardin
Brad Schlepp
Ryan Sikkink
Tim Smith
Jim Sprung
Doug Stanford
Bill Staten
Jeff Stevens
Lonni Stover
Art Sullivan
Judd Tarrant
Kim Templeton
Brett Theeler
Louis Thomas
Boyd Thorson
Travis Traphagen
Trent Traphagen
Aaron Valentine
Henry Valines
Todd Volmer
Wayne Ward
Gene Wagner
Marty Waukazoo
Mike Wells
Mike West
John Wilkinson
Rex Willard
Roy Williams
Buell Woodle
Derrick Yarber
Morris Zempel