by Lindsay Rose

Twenty-two Black Hills State University photography students were chosen as finalists for the 29th Annual College Photographers Competition by Photographers Forum magazine.

BHSU photography students accepted in this year’s competition include: Crystal Savage, James Netzer, David Harding, Bradley Limbo, Heidi Dubej, Nicholas Berg, Jamie Haymans, Sarah Trapp, Erin Weber, Bree M. Anderson, Hollianna M. Barber, Janci J. Wenner, Brianne Bussell, Bruce Speidel, Jamie C.M. Hermanson, Randal J. Iverson, Amanda Alred, Lindsay Anne Rose, Joshua Bryan Cooke, Jennifer E. Carr, Andrew Rexroad and Cory A. Schultz.

The annual international competition, which is sponsored by Nikon camera, draws submissions from art schools and universities from around the world. In this year’s competition more than 30,000 photographs were submitted for consideration. The top four percent of entries submitted were chosen as finalists. Photographic mediums included color, black and white, digital and alternative silver processes.

The photographs chosen as finalists will appear in the 2009 Best of College Photography Annual to be published in June by Photographers Forum Magazine and Serbin Communications.
According to Steve Babbitt, professor of mass communication and photography at BHSU, competing against the nation’s finest fine art and commercial photography schools BHSU students have dramatically increased their standing in the competition over the past six years. BHSU photography students began competing in the competition in 2002 and that year only one student from BHSU was chosen as a finalist.

An exhibition of winning photographs from this year’s competition will be on display throughout the summer in the Clare and Josef Meier Hall Student Lounge Gallery.