View photos of the Employee Awards.

Black Hills State University recently recognized employees for their years of service and dedication during the annual Employee Awards Reception.

Nancy Grassel, director of Human Resources (HR) at BHSU, read proclamations by Gov. Michael Rounds and Spearfish Mayor Jerry Krambeck which expressed their appreciation of BHSU employees’ dedicated service.

Retirees honored this year were: Janet Bettelyoun, custodial worker for Facilities Services; Kay Kerney, senior secretary with the College of Arts and Sciences; Randi Ellis, College of Business; and Brent Carper, College of Business and Technology.

Dr. Cheryl Anagnopoulos, professor of psychology at BHSU, received the 2009 Distinguished Faculty Award. Anagnopoulos was recognized for her commitment to students, her ongoing research, and her innovative teaching methods.

BHSU President Kay Schallenkamp recognized the Career Service Act (CSA) outstanding employees for the 2008 fall and spring semesters. Marilyn Luscombe, accountant at the BHSU Bookstore, was recognized for the fall semester with over 30 years at BHSU and for exemplary customer service skills.
Jeannie Salazar, program assistant I for University Advancement, was named the spring semester outstanding employee for her professionalism and ability to maintain an upbeat attitude while taking on a growing workload.

Jane Klug, director of Student Services; and Terry Hupp, director of Instructional Technology, were acknowledged by the CSA council for their dedication and assistance with CSA events through the years. Nancy Shuck, secretary for Residence Life, was recognized for her service on the CSA council. Shuck had been on the council for nine years and was president for eight years.

Several individuals and groups received awards for service to the students, university, and community.

  • Marc Tuschen, director of Wenona Cook Residence Hall, received the Special Committee Award.
  • Brian Ewald, system software specialist at Network and Computer Services, was presented with the Economic Savings Award.
  • Fred Nelson, director of Network and Computer Services received the Community Service Award.
  • Anne Stevens, senior computer support specialist for Instructional Technology, received the University Service Award.
  • Scott Ahola, interim director and reference librarian of the E.Y. Berry Library, was presented with the Student Service Award.
  • The University Area Award was given to the BHSU Grounds and Maintenance staff – Dan Adams, equipment service worker; Lynn Fox, senior building maintenance worker; Bryan Johnson, senior building maintenance worker; Terry Johnson, senior building maintenance worker; Marc Jolley; building maintenance specialist; Theresa Lewis, groundskeeper; Steve Peep, groundskeeper; Ron Reede, groundskeeper; John Rombough; grounds services manager; John Wilkinson, grounds crew leader/specialist; Eric Hunt, building maintenance specialist; Shad Hunt, senior building maintenance worker; and Randy Culver, associate director of Facilities Services.

Schallenkamp concluded the ceremony by recognizing employees who have five or more years of total state service. Recognized for 35 years was Carol Thomas, coordinator for student services at the Center for Academic Success for Rapid City programs.

Margaret Kleinsasser, secretary for the Athletics Department; and Marilyn Luscombe, accountant for the BHSU Bookstore, were honored for 30 years of service.

Acknowledged for 25 years of service was Jace DeCory, instructor of history and social science at BHSU.

Jane Dunbar, registration officer in the Registrar’s Office; and Tom Termes, assistant professor of business and technology; were recognized for 20 years of service.

Honored for 15 years of service was Becky Haak, senior secretary in the Office of Admissions; and Pamela Wegner, professor in the Department of Fine and Applied Arts.
Employees acknowledged for ten years of service were: Patty Bellamy, assistant professor of business and technology; Greg Cooch, assistant professor of education; Deb Henriksen, director of Student Financial Services; Micheline Hickenbotham, assistant professor of education; Andy Johnson, assistant professor of science and associate director of the Center for Advancement of Math & Science Education (CAMSE); Vicki Kapust, associate director – math outreach for CAMSE; Lynette Long, custodial worker for Facilities Services; Ronda Mehrer, instructor of humanities; Cindy Ostert, program assistant I for Student Financial Services; Tracey Steinbach, computer support specialist for Administrative Information Management Services; Myron Sullivan, director of Public Safety & Parking; Scott Walkinshaw, assistant professor of education and head cross country & track coach; and John Wilkinson, grounds crew leader/specialist for Facilities Services.

Recognized for five years of service were: Scott Ahola, interim director and reference librarian of the E.Y. Berry Library; Pamela Arneson, instructor for Rapid City programs; Catherine Bergey, accountant for CAMSE; Danielle Brady, coordinator for the Student Assistant Center; Pamela Carriveau, assistant professor of history and social science; Richard Carriveau, assistant professor of education and director of Field Experience; Cynthia Chandler, assistant professor of education; Dawn Danko, senior secretary for Student Financial Services; David Dobrenski, human resources generalist in the HR Office; Sara Freng, librarian in the E.Y. Berry Library; Mary Goebel, instructor of education; Danelle Johnson, child care worker for the Child Care Center; Albert Juhrend, assistant professor of theatre; Lynne Munger, assistant to the president; Parthasarathi Nag, assistant professor of mathematics; Marcie Pratt; instructor of humanities; Sasha Pursley, assistant professor of history and social science; Andrey Reznikov, associate professor of humanities; Barb Ridgeway, office supervisor for the Center for Academic Success; Daniel Spencer, associate professor of business and technology; Scott Stoltenberg, associate professor of psychology; Robert Vanderlinde, mobile science lab operator for CAMSE; David Wilson, assistant professor of art; Stacy Wolf, child care worker in the Child Care Center; Sheng Yang; associate professor of business and technology; Ed Young, custodial worker for Facilities Services.

View Photos of the Employee Award Ceremony