More than 350 Black Hills State University graduates will participate in the 157th commencement ceremony Saturday, May 9 at 10 a.m. in the Donald E. Young Sports and Fitness Center.

Candidates for the spring 2009 graduation include 74 master’s degree candidates, five bachelor of arts candidates, one bachelor of applied technical science, 12 associate degree candidates, 59 bachelors of science in education, and 243 bachelor of science candidates.

Dr. Ahrar Ahmad, professor of history and social science, will give the charge to the graduates. Dr. James O. Hansen, South Dakota Board of Regents member, will give a greeting from the Regents. Following the presentation of diplomas by Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, BHSU president; April Meeker, registrar; and Dr. Dean Myers, provost and vice president of Academic Affairs, the graduates will be welcomed into the Alumni Association by Sandy Mattern, president of the Alumni Association.

Musical selections will be performed by BHSU music professors Dr. Janeen Larsen, music professor and chair of the department of Fine and Applied Arts, and Christopher Hahn, associate professor of music, along with the Black Hills Singers, who are directed by Dr. Jonathan Nero, assistant professor of music.
Following the commencement ceremony a reception will be held in the Young Center Field House for all graduates and their families and friends.

An honors breakfast will be held at 8 a.m. at the Pangburn Dining Hall on the BHSU campus. Amber Brodersen, chemistry major from Wolsey, and Trent Waage, pre-medicine major from Aberdeen, will be honored as the highest ranking female and male graduates respectively. Also honored will be the cum laude, magna cum laude, and summa cum laude graduates.

For the first time individuals who cannot attend the commencement ceremony can view it live on the internet. Details will be announced on the BHSU website, www.BHSU.edu.