Black Hills State University has earned a reputation for changing the lives and futures of its students through high-quality innovative academic programs and a dynamic learning community. We are proud of the powerful influence and accomplishments of our alumni.

  • Jensen (Jen) Moore, Class of ‘99, will join the West Virginia University (WVU) faculty as the director of undergraduate online programs for the Perley Isaac Reed School of Journalism. After earning her doctorate from the University of Missouri School of Journalism, Moore taught for Wayne State University, the University of Missouri, and most recently for the Integrated Marketing Communication (IMC) online Master’s program at WVU.
  • The South Dakota Hall of Fame board of directors inducted 13 individuals, of which four were alumni of Black Hills State University, into the 2008 class of the South Dakota Hall of Fame. Clint Roberts, attended, Ft. Pierre, was inducted for his work in governmental affairs/agriculture; Dr. James O. Hansen, Class of '52, Spearfish, was inducted for his accomplishments in public education; Gordon Hanson, attended, was inducted for communications; and Evelyn Leite, Class of '74, Ft. Pierre, was inducted in the professional category.
  • Travis Swartz, Class of 2006, was named the "Teacher of Distinction" for the 2008-09 school year at South Canyon Elementary School in Rapid City where he teaches fifth grade.
  • Elaine Doll-Dunn, Class of '79, received the 2008 Spirit of Dakota Award for her contributions to preserving the heritage of women and for her leadership roles, which have made a significant impact on her community and state.
  • John Lopez, Class of '97, was one of four honored by the Rapid City Chamber of Commerce with the Rushmore Honoree Award for his bronze sculpture work.
  • Cary Roller, who earned her teaching certificate from BHSU in 2000, was awarded the 2008 Milken Educator Award by the Milken Family Foundation.