Aubrey Baxter
 Cody Bordewyk
 Jason Boeding

The Black Hills State women’s team placed first for the fourth consecutive season at the Dakota Athletic Conference (DAC) championship on February 22, 2009. The men’s team placed second for the third consecutive year.

The meet featured several outstanding performances from BHSU participants. The men had three event winners Laine Parish, freshman environmental physical science major from Cheyenne, Wyo., won the 5000 meter run. Jason Boeding, junior technology major from Caputa, won the shot put and weight throw. Cody Bordewyk, junior human services major from Livermore, Colo., won the mile and 3000 meter runs.

The first place women’s team had several outstanding individual performances. Aubrey Baxter, senior psychology major from Redfield, won the shot put and set a new National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) record in the weight throw. Wendy O’Lexey, junior special education major from Rock Springs, Wyo., set a new DAC record winning the 5000 meter run. Alicia Verhulst, senior wellness management major from Ralph, won the 3000 meter run. The women also won the 4 x 400 meter relay, the team featured Nicki Shinkle, sophomore wellness management major from Wright, Wyo.; Rose Hunter, junior communication arts major from Moorcroft, Wyo.; Kayla Ferguson, sophomore wellness management major from Eaton, Colo.; and Kaila Ivers, sophomore mathematics major from Pierre.

Several BHSU student athletes received awards at the meet. Bordewyk received the awards for Outstanding Track Athlete of the Meet, Men’s DAC Athlete of the Meet, and was co-recipient of the men’s Most Valuable Senior award. Boeding and Baxter received awards for Outstanding Field Athlete of the Meet; Baxter was also awarded the women’s Most Valuable Senior Award.

The teams are now preparing for the 44th Annual NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championships March 5-7, at the Memorial Center "Mini Dome" at East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, Tennessee.