Black Hills State University will hold its 156th commencement ceremony Saturday, Dec. 13 at 10 a.m. in the Donald E. Young Sports and Fitness Center. 

Nearly 200 candidates for graduation will participate in the fall 2008 commencement ceremony.

Student Senate president Jill Kary, junior business administration major from Powell, Wyo., will give the charge to the graduates. Terry Baloun, South Dakota Board of Regents vice president, will then give a greeting from the Regents. Following the presentation of diplomas by Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, BHSU president; April Meeker, registrar, and Dr. Dean Myers, provost and vice president of academic affairs, the graduates will be welcomed into the Alumni Association by Steve Meeker, vice president of university advancement.

Musical selections will be performed by the Black Hills Singers, directed by Dr. Jonathan Nero, BHSU assistant professor of music and Dr. Janeen Larsen, music professor and chair of the Department of Fine and Applied Arts.

Following the commencement ceremony a reception will be held in the Young Center Field House for all graduates and their families and friends.

An honors breakfast will be held prior to commencement at 8:15 a.m. in the David B. Miller Yellow Jacket Student Union Jacket Legacy Room. Kerry Nekuda, biology major from Cheyenne, Wyo., will be honored as the highest ranking graduate. Also honored at the breakfast will be the summa cum laude, magna cum laude, and cum laude graduates.