BHSU Will Host Opening Round NAIA Volleyball National Championship at the Young Center

Yellow Jacket fans are invited to meet and congratulate the Black Hills State University cross country teams and coaches Wednesday, Nov. 19 at 5 p.m. at the Hall of Fame Room in the Donald E. Young Sports and Fitness Center at a send-off gathering.

The BHSU men’s and women’s cross country teams won Dakota Athletic Conference Cross Country Titles this season and will be competing in the national tournament in Kenosha, Wis., beginning  Nov. 22. This is the 10th consecutive year the women’s cross country team has won the DAC title. The men’s team has won seven consecutive titles and eight of the last ten years.

The Yellow Jackets gathered all but one of the post season awards as follows:

Men’s Most Valuable Runner -  Cody Bordewyk; Women’s Most Valuable Runner - Wendy O'Lexey; Men’s Senior Athlete of the Year - Cody Bordewyk; Women’s Senior Athlete of the Year - Alicia Verhulst; Men’s Freshman of the Year - Jed Morgan.

BHSU Coach Scott Walkinshaw was named both the men’s and women’s Coach of the Year.