Black Hills State University students were recently awarded the Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) scholarships.  The scholarship reception was hosted by the Center for American Indian Studies at Black Hills State University recently honored this year’s STEM scholarship recipients.

These STEM scholarships were made possible by a four-year $600,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to BHSU.  According to Dr. John Glover, over 90 percent of the funding is for scholarships to underrepresented groups in science.  The scholarship awards were presented by the STEM undergraduate committee members Dr. John Glover and Dr. Garth Spellman.

This year’s recipients are: Andrew Elk Shoulder, senior biology major from Lame Deer, Mont.; Melissa Fire Cloud, senior biology major from Albuquerque, N.M.; Renee Kummer, senior biology major from Parkston; Rhiannon Morgan, sophomore biology major from Fort Thompson; Desiree Pourier, junior biology major from Porcupine; Lauren Schaller, freshman pre-pharmacy student ; Ronald Scott, junior biology major from Rosebud; Kristen Spiel, sophomore biology major from Sturgis; Tiffany Thomas sophomore biology major from Rapid City; Geraldine Toney, freshman biology major from Spearfish; and Deanna Turney, junior biology major from Ft. Pierre.