The Black Hills State University track and field teams had an outstanding conference meet in Jamestown on Sunday. The Yellow Jacket women won twelve events to capture their third consecutive conference outdoor championship scoring 279 points while the men won six events in finishing runner-up for the third consecutive year with 162 points. The women scored points in every event and were led by multiple event winners Aubrey Baxter (Redfield, SD) and Shannon Hellman (Box Elder, SD). Aubrey won the exhibition hammer on Saturday night and continued her winning ways on Sunday with victories in the shot put and discus. Her winning shot put of 50-04.75 broke her conference record of 48-00.75 she set in 2005 while competing for the University of Mary.  Her discus mark of 158-04 broke the BH school record of 156-3 formerly held by Kristal  Keffler (Faith, SD).  Aubrey topped off her outstanding meet by placing 4th in the Javelin with a 119-10 throw.  Shannon won her specialty, the 100 meter hurdles with a new school record and national leading time of 13.76 and the long jump with a 17-03 effort. Shannon also won the DAC heptathlon held April 20-21. Other event winners included Shelli Scheffler (Lovell, WY) in the steeplechase with a time of 11:51.41 (sixth all time at BH), Kerry Washburn (Cheyenne, WY) in the 5000 meters, senior Kelley Aline (Hulett, WY) in the 800 with a time of 2:19.89 (eighth all-time at BH), Ashlee Della Silva (Stephenville, MT)  won the 200 meters in 25.49 (second all-time at BH) Katie Cook (Cheyenne, WY) won the inaugural Dakota Athletic Conference 10000 meter race in 41:17.17 (8th all-time at BH). The 3200 meter relay of Robin Rosechandler (Cody, WY), Krista Johnson (Rapid City, SD), Amanda Skinner (Sturgis, SD) and Marissa Curry (Gillette, WY) won in 10:17.17. The 1600 meter relay team consisting of team members Nikki Shinkle (Rawlins, WY), Kayla Ferguson (Eaton, CO), Della Silva and Aline won in 4:09.89.

The Lady Yellow Jackets have won the Triple Crown (cross country, indoor and outdoor track & field conference championships) three consecutive years!

The men were led by double event winners Eric Flores (Custer, SD) and Cody Bordewyk (Livermore, CO). Besides winning the exhibition hammer throw on Saturday night, Flores won the shot put and discus with marks of 54-01 and 148-02 respectively on Sunday.  Bordewyk won the steeplechase in 9:27.94 and followed it up with a win in the 5000 meters in 15:33.95. Shane Long (Yoder,WY) won the long jump with a jump of 22-00 and freshman Zack Condon (Laurel, MT) won the 800 meters in 1:57.08.

Runner-up finishes for the men were turned in by Tyg Long (Custer, SD) in the discus with a throw of 145-00 and Neil Long (Fort Collins, CO) in the 10000 meter run with a time of 33:13.25. The 3200 meter relay of Dan Brelje (Chisago Lakes, MN), Jesse Vrooman (Miller, SD), Aaron Heiser (Aberdeen, SD) and Neil Long finished second in 8:44.03 and the 1600 meter relay team of Cameron Dean (Huntley Project, MT), Zach Condon, Brett Montieth (Lead, SD) and Shane Long placed second in a time of 3:26.52.

For the women, Shannon Hellman placed second in a 100 and 200 meters. Her time of 12.13 in the 100 meters broke the 25 year old record of Audra Birkland who ran 12.34 in 1993 and her time of 25.52 moved her to third all-time at BH. Nikkei Shinkle’s runner-up time of 59.47 in the 400 meters moved her to 9th all-time at BH. Nikki also placed second in the 400 meter hurdles in 1:08.67. The 400 meter relay team of Kayla Gosnell (Rapid City, SD), Hellman, Della Silva and Shinkle placed second in a season best time of 49.19 which ranks 6th all-time at BH. Lisa Koch (Elkton, SD) had a season best runner-up finish in the pole vault at 10-02. Junior Amber Brodersen (Wolsey, SD) placed second in both the shot put (42-00.5) and the discus (136-06). Tiffany Thomas (Laurel, MT) placed second in the javelin with a national qualifying mark of 131-07 which ranks second all-time at BH.

On the day the Yellow Jacket women had 31 season best performances and five NAIA National  Meet automatic and five provisional qualifying marks. The men’s team had twenty four season best performances and one auto and one provisional mark on the day.
Next up for the Yellow Jacket is the NAIA National Meet in St. Louis, MO, May 22-24. 
Complete results can be found on the Dakota Athletic Web Site and the BH track & field schedule.  

Dakota Athletic Conference Honors:

Eric Flores: Men’s Field Event Athlete of the Meet
Aubrey Baxter: Women’s Field Event Athlete of the Meet
Shannon Hellman: Women’s Track Athlete of the Meet
Shannon Hellman: Women’s Overall Athlete of the Meet
Coach Walkinshaw: Women’s Coach of the Year