The Black Hills State Yellow Jackets return to the 2007 Cross Country season once again with strong hope for a successful season. The running Yellow Jackets will look to balance most of their weight on the returning members from the 2006 teams.

The men’s team will be led by returning seniors Allen Wood, Mike Nekuda, and Trent Waage. Running along side the three seniors will be Cody Bordewyk, a junior from Ft. Collins. These four men were all part of the scoring team last season that took first place honors at both the Dakota Athletic Conferece and Regional Championships. They were also a part of the top seven Yellow Jackets including junior Jesse Vrooman, that represented Black Hills State at the NAIA Championships in Louisville, KY last season, where they finished in 7th with a team score of 272. The men’s team has one six out of the last seven Conference titles and will be looking for some younger runners to fill the loss of some valuable seniors. Along side other returning runners will be a group of talented freshman including Zach Condon of Billings, MT, Neil Long of Ft. Collins, CO, and Kyle Koch from Douglas, SD.

The Lady Yellow Jackets will be a young but experienced group as they are led by a group of juniors and sophomores including Kerry Washburn, Wendy O’lexey, and Alicia Verhulst.  Washburn, a graduate of Cheyenne, WY will return this season after a red shirt season for her second year. Her freshman year, she was an All-American at the NAIA championships placing 24th. O’Lexey, a sophomore from Rock Springs, WY was 38th her freshmen year and was among the highest placing freshman at the National meet. The women’s team will also look for team support from sophomores Shelli Scheffler and Katie Cook as the women’s team was also the 2006 Conference and Regional Champions and finish 4th at the National Meet. Both the men’s and women’s cross country teams have a positive outlook on this season returning a lot of national experience on both sides as well as a large group of talented sophomores and juniors who will look to fill the void of a group of talented seniors from the 2006 team.