Spearfish, S.D. - Black Hills State University will be inducting five individuals and two teams as the 2006 Athletic Hall of Fame class on September 22, 2006. The inductees are Leslie Deutscher, Jeff Englund, Terry Burgess, Ernie Mecca and Jim Alcorn. The 1970 football team and the 1928 men’s basketball team will also be honored.

The banquet will be held on Friday, September 22 at 6 p.m. in the Yellow Jacket Legacy Room. Tickets to the banquet are available for $12 through Black Hills State by calling (605) 642-6385.

Leslie Deutscher competed for the Yellow Jackets in women’s basketball from 1992-96. Deutscher’s name appears multiple times in the Yellow Jacket record book. Her achievements include:
• 1,426 career points (fourth all-time)
• 13.0 career points per game (tied for eighth all-time)
• 556 career field goals made (fourth all-time)
• .456 career field goal percentage (ninth all-time)
• 837 career rebounds (first all-time)
• 7.6 career rebounds per game (fourth all-time)
• .732 career free throw percentage
• 314 career free throws made (second all-time)
• 143 career blocked shots (first all-time)
• 142 career assists (tied for ninth all-time)
• 185 career steals (fourth all-time)
• 443 single-season points (tied for seventh all-time)
• 180 single-season field goals made (tied for fifth all-time)
• 249 single-season rebounds (second all-time)
• 8.1 single-season rebounds per game twice (tied for sixth all-time)
• 227 single-season rebounds (sixth all-time)
• 44 single-season blacked shots in (first all-time)
• 39 single-season blocked shots in (second all-time)
• 36 single-season blocked shots in (third all-time)
• 24 single-season blocked shots in (tied for tenth all-time)
• 69 single-season steals (eighth all-time)
• 2.1 single-season steals (tenth all-time)
• 18 single-game rebounds (tied for seventh all-time)
• 7 single-game blocked shots (tied for second all-time)
• 6 single-game blocked shots two times (tied for fourth all-time)
• 5 single-game blocked shots (sixth all-time)
• 13 single-game field goals made (tied for sixth all-time)
• 1.000 single-game free throw percentage four times (tied for first all-time)
• 6 single-game steals (tied for tenth all-time)

Jeff Englund set many records during his tenure at Black Hills State. Englund played for the Yellow Jackets from 1988-91 and ran his way into the record books. Three times Englund scored 30 points in a game. Englund’s other accomplishments include:
• 264 career points scored (first all-time)
• 39 touchdowns (first all-time)
• 2,835 career rushing yards (first all-time)
• 1,147 single-season rushing yards in 1991 (first all-time)
• 1,037 single-season rushing yards in 1990 (second all-time)
• 117 single-season points scored in 1990 (first all-time)
• 115 single-season points scored in 1991 (second all-time)
• NAIA Honorable Mention All-American in 1991

Over the past three decades, Terry Burgess has established himself as one of the most highly respected coaches in the state of Wyoming. Burgess coached many sports during his career. He was named Wyoming Wrestling Coach of the Year five times. He coached a pole vault state champion while in Sheridan, Wyo. He also coached the distance runners and was an assistant football coach at Sheridan High School. Burgess was a member of the football coaching staff that led Sheridan High School to five state championships. Burgess was inducted into the Wyoming Coaches Hall of Fame in 2006. Burgess also coached football and wrestling at Dickinson State. At Black Hills State, Burgess was a multi-sport athlete. He played football, baseball and wrestled for the Yellow Jackets.

Ernie Mecca guided both track and field and basketball in his coaching career. In 1995, the National High School Athletic Coaches Association awarded him as Region 7 Coach of the Year for girls’ track. Mecca led the boys’ track team to five regional championships and three state championships. The girls’ track team won four regional championships and two state championships under Mecca’s direction. Mecca coached the boys’ basketball team to two regional titles and was awarded the Class 1A Coach of the Year in 1990. Mecca also coached girls’ basketball and was an assistant football coach.

Jim Alcorn is being inducted to the Yellow Jacket Hall of Fame for all of his contributions to the Black Hills State athletic program. He served as a past president for the Yellow Jacket Foundation and is currently a member of the Yellow Jacket Foundation’s Board of Directors. Alcorn loyalty to the Yellow Jackets runs deep. He served a an assistant football coach at Black Hills State during one point in his career.

The 1970 Football team were SDIC Tri-Champions with a 5-1 conference and an 8-2 overall record. Coach Gene Schlekeway led what is considered by many to be the best football team ever to compete for Black Hills State. Team members included Bob Langten, Dean Fudge, Jim Falter, Harvey Krautschun, V.J. Hirsch, Kent Waugh, Lanny Swisher, Rich Schlekeway, Ed Sheridon, Pat Lavery, Galen Dannenbring, Sonny Brooks, Dan O’Connor, Randy Langdon, Norm Anderson, Tom Stewart, Gary Peters, Bob Worth, Terry Danielson, Bob Gibson, Chuck Sisk, Bill Fleak, Mark Berdahl, Mike Murphy, Mike McMahon, Bill Shell, Norb Weisbeck, Mike Stafford, Bob Templeton, Keith Schultz, Craig Leckner, Doug Roseth, Keith Glanzer, Ron Young, Roger Risty, George Kuhler, Jerry Pfieffer, Gary Bereiter, Jon Haberman, Mike Hughes, Ralph Meyer, Kirk Stradinger, Terry Burgess, Eldon McNabb, Kent Mauck, Mike Berg, Jim Holwagner, Jerome Lee, Mike Savoy, Ken Richardt, Al Kelley, Paul Georgas, and Dennis Herndon.

Once hailed as the best college basketball team in South Dakota, the 1928 Yellow Jacket men’s basketball team will be honored this year at the 2006 Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet. The Yellow Jackets provided enthusiasm and excitement during the incredible 1928 season. The then Black Hills Teachers College played in 22 games, winning 17 and dropping only five contests. Only three games were dropped to collegiate opponents.
Posted in: men, women, all