Jamestown, N.D. – The Black Hills State University men’s and women’s cross country teams each brought home Dakota Athletic Conference Titles on Friday in Jamestown, N.D.

The women’s team was led by sophomore Erin Curran who took home the individual race title after posting a time of 18:25.  Curran was the first of five Yellow Jackets to finish in the top ten.  Courtney Dickson, Leigh Anne Whiteside and Lela Carpenter finished fifth, sixth and seventh with times of 19:01, 19:08 and 19:14, respectively.  Brooke Wells and Abi Bever finished No. 10 and No. 11 overall.  Wells posted a time of 19:24 and Bever had a time of 19:34.  Other finishers for Black Hills State were Anna Yanchek in 16th (20:16), Teresa Klarenbeek in 19th (20:35), Erica Gajda in 24th (20:54), and Robyn Rosechandler in 29th (21:16).  Black Hills State placed first with 29 points.  Jamestown was a distant second with 72 points.

On the men’s side, Black Hills State placed first with 26 points.  The Yellow Jackets had eight runners cross the finish line in the top 15.  Jed Morgan placed second overall with a time of 26:29.  Laine Parish and Neil Long placed fourth and fifth with times of 26:27 and 26:41, respectively.  K.C. Fiedler posted a time of 27:03 to place seventh and Craig Leavitt posted a time of 27:11 to finish eighth.  Mitch Kraft came in tenth with a time of 27:29.  Marc Whirlwind Soldier and Seth Ulvestad placed No. 11 and No. 13, respectively.  Whirlwind Soldier had a time of 27:33 and Ulvestad had a time of 27:56.  Brock Mickelsen and Mark Wilcox rounded out the roster for the Yellow Jackets.  Mickelsen placed 20th in a time of 28:23 and Wilcox placed 31st in a time of 29:12.

The Black Hills State men’s and women’s cross country teams will compete at the NAIA National Championship meet on November 20 in Fort Vancouver, Wash.  The women will run at 11:30 a.m. MT/10:30 a.m. PT and the men will take to the course at 12:45 p.m. MT/11:45 a.m. PT.

For more information on Black Hills State Athletics, visit www.BHSUAthletics.com.