Faculty Senate Minutes 
Wednesday, October 19, 2011 
Meier Hall 127 
Approved November 2, 2011 

Members Present: 
Kathleen Parrow, Jami Stone, Gina Gibson, Pamela Carriveau, Parthasarathi Nag, Kara Keeter, Nancy Roberts, Chen Wu, Jim Hesson, John Alsup, Brittney Seitz-Student Senate President 

Call meeting to order – 3:15 p.m. 

Approval of the Agenda with revisions. 

Approval of Minutes from October 5, 2011 meeting with revisions. 

Discussion of Faculty Senate Constitution changes. Major change needs to be the distribution of senate members from different schools. The proposal is that each school would elect one member and that each college would elect one member at large. Vote passes to accept this proposal. 

Jami Stone contacted people to put the procedures together for the Distinguished Faculty Committees. 

Drs. Rod Custer and Kristi Pearce visited and discussed changes in the Research IGR to meet HLC requirements: 

Dr. Custer discussed the reduction to the 120 hours. Reduction will come from unassigned electives. The Education Discipline Council is going to try to come up with a common plan for teaching/education programs. The discussion to reduce hours will be the responsibility of individual programs. All these changes have to go through the curriculum process. 

Dr. Pearce, HLC. This proposal redefines the research IGR as experiential learning and is more inclusive of learning experiences, not limited to research and creative activity. 

Meeting adjourned at 4:49. 

Minutes respectfully recorded and submitted by Gina Gibson. 

Actions: E-mail | Bookmark |