Back to Campus Currents

Black Hills State hosts 8th annual student volunteer awards banquet

Students and campus organizations were recognized recently at the 8th annual Student Volunteer Awards Banquet at Black Hills State University.

The theme for the banquet was “An Evening of Stars.” The annual awards ceremony recognizes volunteerism and leadership among individuals and student organizations at BHSU. Student award winners were nominated by fellow students, faculty, staff members, organization advisors and administrators who identified their contribution to the university.

Students and their guests were welcomed by Jane Klug, student services director. Mark Goodrich, dealer and operator of Mark Goodrich Ford Lincoln Mercury, gave the keynote address.

The awards were as follows:

Outstanding New Student Organization: Sociology and Human Services Club

Outstanding Community Service Project: United Ministries for the Shoe Box Service project

Community Outreach Program Award: Health Sciences Student Organization (HSSO) for the Spearfish Middle School Science Fair

Outstanding Spirit Activity Award: Student Ambassadors for the Spirit Committee

Outstanding Social Program: Campus Ventures

Achievement Awards: Campus Ventures, Student Ambassadors, TODAY Newspaper, University Programming team, KBHU, Props & Liners, BHSU Reading Council, International Student Organization, La Masa, and Black Hills Association for the Education of Young Children (BHAEYC)

Outstanding Student Organization: TODAY Newspaper

Board of Regents Awards: Award for Academic Excellence to KBHU-FM and the Organizational Leadership Award to United Ministries



Back to Campus Currents

Outstanding Members of Student Organizations: BH Athletics-John Bokker, Gregory; BH Reading Council-Jay Beyer, Spearfish; BHAEYC-Cary Oyler, Rapid City; BH English Club-Carol Armbrust, Sturgis; BHTV-Alisha Swanson, Spearfish and Anya Olverson, Spearfish; Fellowship of Christian Athletes-Mandi Duthie, Spearfish; Humbert Hall Government-Tokina Rossow, Wahpeton, N.D.; International Student Organization-Lorna Woods, Spearfish; LDSSO-Amber Benson, Spearfish; Math Club-Becky Byer, Casper, Wyo.; PEARL-LaFawn Janis, Spearfish; Phi Beta Lambda-Max Wilen, Belle Fourche; ROTC-Brian Oliver, Spearfish; S.I.F.E.-Ryan Maher, Spearfish and Mark Schon, Spearfish; Sig Tau Gamma-Troy Paulson, Spearfish; Student Senate-Scott Biggin, Spearfish; Swarm Days-Beth Brattin, Keystone; TODAY Newspaper-entire staff; Theatre Society-Jacob Feeley, Diamondville, Wyo.; Travel and Tourism-Teresa Fried, Lodgepole; United Ministries-Beatta Ferris, Spearfish; University Programming-Morgan Miles, Rapid City; and Yearbook-Sommerlynn Mortenson, Wall

Outstanding Residence Life Involvement Award: Tokina Rossow, Wahpeton, N.D.

Outstanding Freshman Award: Sarah Bonnichsen, Highmore, and special recognition to Dawn Dybis, Rapid City, and Erin Carr, Belle Fourche

Outstanding Advisor: Jan Golliher for her work with the Collegiate Outdoor Leadership Program

Outstanding Volunteer Award: Rachel Adams, Spearfish

Outstanding Student Leader: Adam Grein, Spearfish; special recognition to Crystal Muglia, Spearfish and Mandi Jo Duthie, Spearfish

Excellence in Leadership Awards: Jay Beyer, Spearfish; Beata Ferris, Spearfish; Sydney Magnus, Lower Brule; Ryan Remington, Groton; Chris Schultes, Spearfish; David Steele, Ranchester, Wyo. and Whitney Waters, Spearfish

Vice President's Rising Star Award: Justin Varland, Gregory

Young Alumni Achievement Award: Shawn Rost, Spearfish

Spirit of BH Award: Lisa Bomengen, Sundance, Wyo.