Black Hills State University

Contact Us

Melissa Christensen
Assistant Athletic Director - External Operations
Young Center 106
1200 University St. Unit 9411
Spearfish, SD 57799
Office: 605-642-6460
The Yellow Jacket Foundation

Who We Are

  • The Yellow Jacket Foundation was created September 19, 1974 to support Black Hill State student-athletes. Since the foundation's inception, contributors have been the driving force in both funding for athletic scholarships and improving athletic facilities.
  • Through various endeavors such as tailgating, auctions, golf tournaments, concessions, ticket sales, sports camps, outright donations and other events, the Yellow Jacket Foundation funds all athletic scholarships given to Black Hills State student-athletes.
  • Supports athletic facilities and supports the athletic operating budget such as program expenses.
  • The Yellow Jacket Foundation supports the Black Hills State Athletics department by funding the equivalent of nearly 30 full-ride scholarships in support of our 11 athletic programs that participate in NCAA Division II as members of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. The current scholarship average for RMAC members is 60 full-ride scholarships. With your help as loyal BHSU fans, the Yellow Jacket Foundation works to achieve this average every day. Please log-on to to see the latest news and information regarding all of your Yellow Jacket programs and find out how you can help support the many BHSU Student-Athletes. Discover more information on becoming a contributor to student-athlete scholarships here.


Our Mission

The mission of The Yellow Jacket Foundation is to support Black Hills State and the Department of Athletics by encouraging, receiving and managing gifts for athletic scholarships, facilities and operations. The Yellow Jackets thrive on the contributions provided by The Yellow Jacket Foundation.

Yellow Jacket Foundation Board of Directors

  • Dan Green, President
  • Chris Anderson, Past President
  • Ashley Pearson, Treasurer
  • Scott Graslie, Secretary
  • Dylan Wilde, Yellow Jacket Club President
  • Ron Junek
  • Jim Alcorn
  • Wes Buckmaster
  • Forest Brady
  • Darin Douglas
  • Dana Dykhouse
  • Neil Grandbouche
  • John Heck
  • Bill Hughes
  • Terry Kelley
  • Dave Little
  • David Mickelson
  • Jim Rarick 
  • Stan Triplett        
  • Mike West     
  • Tim White, Jr. 
  • Bob Young

      Ex Officio Members
      Jhett Albers, Athletic Director
      Melissa Christensen, Asst. Athletic Director of External Operations
      Steve Meeker, Vice President University Advancement
      Tom Jackson Jr., BHSU President