Black Hills State University

Contact Us

Tom Wheaton
Woodburn Hall Room 114
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm

The Alumni Association

Who We Are

  • Established June 14, 1894, the Alumni Association is a non-dues based organization that sponsors many events and programs each year that benefit students, alumni, and the university such as Alumni Awards Luncheon, Swarm Days events, Alumni Mile, Founder’s Day Luncheon, Spirit of BH Award, Young Alumni Award, Graduation Rehearsal Reception, various alumni gatherings and reunions, 50 Year Club, Legacy Family Award and the Alumni Art Show.
  • University Advancement, on behalf of the association, maintains address information on more than 17,000 former students. The office acts as a campus information and referral center, where alumni can receive answers to their questions about Black Hills State University. Feel free to contact us with any questions you may have or you may update your information.
  • Alumni are defined as anyone who has attended the university. Graduates of the university automatically become members of the alumni association upon graduation. Non-graduates become members upon request.

Our Mission

The Black Hills State University Alumni Association's mission is to provide leadership, organization and planning for effective alumni activities which will contribute to the realization of the goals and objectives of BHSU. The alumni association can achieve this by developing a spirit of loyalty and fraternity among the alumni of BHSU to the degree that alumni will actively support the university in such programs, student recruitment, student relations and projects, public relations and other timely programs as required to enhance the association and the university.

Lori Caldwell, President-Elect
Lori Caldwell, '87

Julie Benedict, '96

James Mortenson, '03
Vice President

Sandy Mattern, Past President
Sandy Mattern, '89
Bill Collins, President
Bill Collins, '93
  • Carol Backens, ’50 Emeritus
  • Melissa Barth, ‘02
  • Beth Benning, ‘73
  • Patsy Custis, '88
  • Lauren Dahl, '04
  • Elaine Doll-Dunn, ‘79
  • Susan Dolney, '93
  • Mary Furois, ‘60
  • Jodi Garcia, '99
  • Tom Hills, '62
  • Kelsie Darling, '07 & '08
  • Linda Hughes, '61
  • Harvey Krautschun, ’72 Emeritus
  • Jill Leonard, '01
  • Holly Mortenson, '09
  • Susan Proefrock, ‘87
  • Brent Tipton, '97
  • Jason Tysdal, '01
  • Larry Vavruska, '68 

      Ex Officio Members
      Tom Wheaton, '87 - Director of Alumni Relations, Executive Secretary
      Steve Meeker, '84 - BHSU Vice President University Advancement
      Dr. Tom Jackson Jr., BHSU President